Day seven: Milang-Goolwa Freshwater Classic Yacht Race

It was a busy morning at Milang as around 1000 sailors prepared themselves for the 2017 The Marina Hindmarsh Island Milang-Goolwa Freshwater Classic on Sunday the 22nd of January. The fleet of trailable yachts, large multi-hulls and off the beach catamarans and dinghies made for a majestic sight for the thousands of spectators who lined the course, both on land and on water, from Pt Sturt all the way to Goolwa.


The course took entrants across Lake Alexandrina, passing through a gate midway between Milang and Pt Sturt, then another gate between beacon 88 and Point Sturt, along the River Murray, past Clayton and under the Hindmarsh Island Bridge to the finish line in front of the Goolwa Regatta Yacht Club.

The origin of the Milang-Goolwa dates back to 1966 when Edith and Esther, wooden river boats, raced from Goolwa to Milang to establish whose boat was fastest. 50 years later, Edith was amongst the fleet of 11 Vintage Wooden Boats to enter the Milang-Goolwa and continue the tradition of being the first division to start the race.

There was a large contingent of off the beach boats and many were grateful for the reassurance, support and assistance of the Victor Harbor and Goolwa Sea Rescue who provided a professional and superb effort on the day.


The race formally concluded back at the Goolwa Regatta Yacht Club, where the Official Presentations took place. Lyn Roberts, Commodore of the GRYC, in welcoming competitors and guests thanked the sponsors for their continuing support and noted that: “no other freshwater yacht race brings competitors and spectators together the way this classic yacht race does. I want to thank the hardworking team of volunteers who have made this event such a success.”

The W.R. Appleby Trophy for the first boat on corrected in Division 1 went to Zeta, skippered by James Byron.

The A.B.Kinnear Perpetual Trophy went to Elanora (Div 2) skippered by Louise Edwards and Neopthyte (Div 3) skippered by Derek Morrison.

The Commodore’s Trophy went to Bacchus (Div 4) skippered by Brendan Murray and Free Div 5) skippered by Trevor Hamlyn.

The Remilton Trophy went o Wilparina III skippered by Rob Remilton.

Dolphin, skippered by Chris Reiffel took out the Keith Veenstra Memorial Trophy for the fastest Restricted 21 and the Blue Darling trophy for the fastest trailable yacht in divisions 2, 3 ,4, 5 or 6.

The Crowhurst Trophy for the first boat in Division 2 to pass through the gate at Pt Sturt went to Seabomb skippered by Harry Cooper.

Cock of the Lake for the fastest time in all divisions went to Raketvapen skippered by Marcus Towell.

Division 1
Line Honours: Nimue (M Jolly)
On Corrected: Jabiru (S West) Janillian (J Dickson) Beth (P Simmons)

Division 2
Line Honours: Dolphin (C Reiffel)
On Corrected: Elanora (L Edwards) Equinox (M Symonds) Dolphn (C Reiffel)

Division 3
Line Honours: Cat-el (P White)
On Corrected: Neophyte (D Morrison) Skylark (G Barrow) Misty Dawn (M South)

Division 4
Line Honours: Bouystoys (D Hudson)
On Corrected: Bacchus (B Murray) Serendipity (A Schilling) Farr ‘n’ Fast (L McLaren)

Division 5
Line Honours: Free (T Hamlyn)
On Corrected: Free (T Hamlyn) Blewbiu (N Steyn) Sandpiper (B Taylor)

Division 6
Line Honours: BOHICA (T Bartlett)
On Corrected: BOHICA (T Bartlett) Maniac (D Fidock) Viper LD (P Arnold)

Division 7
Line Honours: Wilparina III (R Remilton)
On Corrected: Wilparina III (R Remilton) The Tribe (J Hardy) Gold Finger (I MacDougall)

Division 8
Line Honours: Bang a Gong (A Nicholson)
On Corrected: Bang a Gong (A Nicholson) For Pete’s Sake (P Alison) Tschuss (M Windle)

Division 9
Line Honours: Raketvapen (M Towell)
On Corrected: Cat-titude (S Thomas) Sixth Element (P Dunk) Two Dogs (T Wright)

For the full results, visit